Paul Pogba’s Selfish Error Denies Man United A Winning Goal vs Southampton

Paul Pogba looks dejected.

Reuters / Jason Cairnduff

Manchester United will end 2017 having been knocked off their second spot after the dismal 0-0 draw against Southampton at Old Trafford.

The match was yet another one in a series of draws, and the club whose worry a few weeks ago was catching up to their noisy neighbors, now finds even its top 4 spot in sudden jeopardy. Three points from an available nine are unacceptable at this level.

On Saturday, the entire thing could have been rescued quite easily, and three points were almost notched into their tally. But that was not to be, owing to one Paul Pogba error that has the fans fuming.


Related:

Player Ratings: Manchester United 0-0 Southampton


One of the only times that the Red Devils were able to get the better of the Southampton defense came when a deflection from Nemanja Matic seemed to be making its way to the back of the net, much to the joy of Old Trafford.

However, that was simply not to be, as Pogba slotted it home mere inches before it could roll into the corner of the goal regardless.

While the Frenchman launched into celebration, the assistant referee had his flag up, and United’s captain for the night just denied his side what could have been an assured winner.

Watch Reactions:

The Theatre of Dream put up a collective sigh, and boos were to be heard after the full-time whistle. Twitter was a great place to voice this displeasure, and the former Juventus star was the subject of great anger from the supporters of the club.

All in all, one does have to remember that it all occurred quite fast, and that the instinct to score is often stronger than looking at it in a dejected fashion.

Regardless, the error might have cost United much more than three points in the long run.

 



Written by Naveen Kelvin  

A writer trying to craft the poetry within football. Purpose in life is to Make Good Art.

 

Leave a Comment