Even Rival Fans Loved What Lukaku Did During Belgium vs Tunisia

REUTERS/Grigory Dukor

The World Cup keeps getting better and better. While a host of great games have already been viewed by the World in the week since the tournament kicked off in Russia, the second round of group stage fixtures held even more surprises.

Perhaps the most entertaining of these arrived when Belgium clashed against Tunisia on Saturday, with the scoreline ending 5-2 to the Belgians.

Romelu Lukaku and Eden Hazard both got two goals each, along with Michy Batshuayi, who scored late, before Khazri made it two goals to his side in the third minute of added time, adding to the early goal of Dylan Bronn, who was substituted due to injury.

An electric fixture to say the least, and one that had a heavy first-half, laden with action within the first 20 minutes itself. However, the game’s most important moment may have arrived through Lukaku and it was one that didn’t involve any of his goals.

RELATED:

Why United Is The Only Club Lewandowski Could Join If He Leaves Bayern

The Manchester United striker fell in the penalty box in the 26th minute after what looked like a foul from the Tunisian goalkeeper. In any other scenario, this would have been apt fodder for a penalty, and the VAR may have been all set to review the claim. However, something classy occurred instead.

As he was rising, Lukaku made it a point to explain and even argue with the referee that it was in fact not a penalty at all and that no contact was made.

RELATED:

Manchester United Willing To Swap Paul Pogba With Barcelona Superstar

In an era where dives are commonplace and simulations making it seem like acting degrees are more important than actual practice on the pitch, this act is commendable. Twitter paid close notice to his move, and lauded the 25-year-old for his actions.

His effort was paid well by the full-time whistle where, despite being substituted, he had two goals to his name, which tied with Ronaldo for the Golden Boot. Lukaku also became the first person since Maradona to score back-to-back braces in a World Cup.

Is Neymar taking notes?