France Reveal Their Final Euro 2016 Squad

France manager Didier Deschamps has announced his final 23-man squad for the upcoming Euro 16 tournament.

The final squad consists of one new addition that wasn’t initially included in the provisional squad, as Manchester United midfielder Morgan Schneiderlin received a late call-up to replace Marseille midfielder Lassana Diarra, who will miss the Euros after picking up a knee injury.

Karim Benzema remains one of the most notable absentees, as the striker continues to be suspended by the French Football Federation for the foreseeable future over a sex tape blackmail case involving Mathieu Valbuena, who also misses out due to poor form.

Liverpool center-back Mamadou Sakho will not be going to the Euros as well, despite being cleared to play again after completing a 30-day provisional suspension. When Deschamps was asked about this decision, he said: “When I decided [on the squad] there was no evidence that the end [for Sakho]would be positive, even if it needed confirmation.”

Other notable players to miss out are Alexandre Lacazette (Lyon), Samuel Umtiti (Lyon), Hatem Ben Arfa (OGC Nice), Kevin Gameiro (Sevilla) and Adrien Rabiot (Paris Saint Germain), which just goes on to show how strong the French squad is. And the fact that the tournament will be played on their home soil make Deschamps’ men one of the absolute favourites to win the title.

The final 23-man squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur), Steve Mandanda (Olympique de Marseille), Benoit Costil (Stade Rennais)

Defenders: Samuel Umtiti (Olympique Lyonnais), Laurent Koscielny (Arsenal), Eliaquim Mangala (Manchester City), Adil Rami (Sevilla), Patrice Evra (Juventus), Bacary Sagna (Manchester City), Lucas Digne (AS Roma), Christophe Jallet (Olympique Lyonnais)

Midfielders: Paul Pogba (Juventus), Blaise Matuidi (Paris St Germain), Morgan Schneiderlin (Manchester United), N’Golo Kante (Leicester City), Yohan Cabaye (Crystal Palace), Moussa Sissoko (Newcastle United)

Forwards: Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Dimitri Payet (West Ham United), Anthony Martial (Manchester United), Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich), Olivier Giroud (Arsenal), Andre-Pierre Gignac (UANL Tigres)

Leave a Comment