Bayern Munich Kings Of Bundesliga, Again

Reuters / Fabian Bimmer

A Carlo Ancelotti-led Bayern Munich created history last night, as they were yet again crowned the winners of the Bundesliga, a feat they have managed to achieve a whopping 5th time in succession.

The title could not have arrived in a more dominant and statement-making manner, as Munich demolished Wolfsburg 6-0 on their trip to the Volkswagen Arena.

Knowing they were playing for the crown, Bayern came out all guns blazing, and David Alaba started proceedings in the 19th minute, which eventually saw the away side lead 3-0 at the break. Lewandowski, a player who had scored 26 goals until last night, fittingly added a brace to his name while Kimmich, Arjen Robben, and Thomas Muller all banged in a goal each.

Second placed RB Leipzig were held to a 0-0 draw against Ingolstadt earlier in the day, while the same result haunted Dortmund, who faced Cologne, thereby helping Munich move out of the reach of anyone in pursuit, with their total point tally reaching 73 for the season.

Carlo Ancelotti had the pressure of replacing Guardiola at the club and continuing the title winning spree, which has been on since the time Jupp Heynckes managed the club in 2013. The manager delivered according to expectations, and along with a squad filled with match winners and superstars, the team never really let go of the crown they have rightfully made their own.

The title win was also a perfect goodbye for Xabi Alonso and Philipp Lahm – both playing their last matches as professional footballers.


Written by Vikram Gupta  

An attacker with his words, and defends each of them with pride. A love for the game which goes hand in hand with his will to forever write. A graduate in the course of advertising and a hopeful to be author. Herrera for the win.

Leave a Comment