Aizawl FC Make History By Winning The I-League

Aizawl FC created history on Sunday by becoming the first ever North-Eastern club to win the I-League title.

Aizawl FC ended their dramatic campaign in the best way possible on Sunday night, as they played out a 1-1 draw with Shillong Lajong FC at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium to win the decorated title over Mohun Bagan.

In the crucial encounter against Shillong, Aizawl were dealt an early blow as they conceded a headed goal from Asier Pierrick Dipanda just 9 minutes after kick-off.

However, the away side went on to recover from the setback and dominate the game, and eventually found an equaliser via William Lalnunfela’s 67th minute strike – a goal that proved enough to win them the I-League.

What made this title win even more special is the fact that Aizawl were relegated down to the second division of Indian football last season, and were only instigated back to the topmost division at the start of this campaign, after a number of Goan football clubs boycotted the competition.

Moreover, with the club boasting of a much smaller budget than the likes of Mohun Bagan and Bengaluru FC, it was once again proved that the hard work and dedication shown by Khalid Jamil’s men was more than enough to secure this historic victory.


Written by Kunal Kambli  

An introverted grammar pedantic who worships football and loves writing about it. Part of the BlameFootball team since 2016.

Leave a Comment