FIFA Names A 12-Man Shortlist For Best Coach Of The Year Award

Real Madrid coach Zinedine Zidane.

Reuters / Juan Medina

Real Madrid coach Zinedine Zidane is considered as the huge favourite to win the FIFA best coach of the year award, after helping Los Blancos conquer their 12th Champions League crown, and a first La Liga title in five years.

The FIFA best coach of the year will be given annually to the football manager  who is considered to have performed the best in the previous 12 months. Having said that, Claudio Ranieri won the prestigious award last year, after leading Leicester to their first ever top-flight title in their 16-year history.

Last year, Real Madrid manager Zinedine Zidane finished second in the voting, but after guiding Real to many laurels, including La Liga, Champions League, Spanish Super Cup and UEFA Super Cup, he has a great chance to win this year.

Along with the Frenchman, the 12-man shortlist for the award that was announced on Thursday include Chelsea’s Premier League winning manager Antonio Conte and Juventus’ Massimiliano Allegri.

REUTERS/Alessandro Garofalo

Bayern Munich manager Carlo Ancelotti, who led his side to the Bundesliga title, is also nominated, as are Tottenham’s Mauricio Pochettinho, Manchester United’s Jose Mourinho, and Pep Guardiola of Manchester City.

Last year, FIFA announced that the award will be based on the votes of captains and head coaches of national teams around the globe, and an online public ballot with football fans and the submission from the selected group of over 200 media representatives.

This is just the initial list of the candidates, with the list being reduced to three names in September, before the announcement of the award takes place in London on 23rd October.

The shortlist for the women’s coach of the year award include Netherlands boss Sarina Wiegman, Nigeria’s Florence Omagbemi and Emma Hayes.


Written by Pragadeesh Shanmugam  

United fan since Edwin Van der Sar denied Nicolas Anelka’s penalty to earn a dramatic Euro glory. Firmly believes that Lionel Messi deserves to win the Ballon d’Or until he plays this sport. One time writer for GiveMeSport and Roar. A regular contributor to Sportskeeda and BlameFootball.


Leave a Comment