Golden Boy Award 2017: The List Of 25 Best Youngsters

France's Ousmane Dembele celebrates scoring their third goal with Kylian Mbappe.

Reuters / Charles Platiau

Italian publication Tuttosport has released the shortlist for the annual Golden Boy award, with 25 players in contention for the prize.

The title will be given to the best performing player under the age of 21, as chosen by journalist across Europe. Last year, Renato Sanches bagged the award for his outstanding exploits with Benfica, as well as the Portuguese national team in their Euro 2016 triumph.

The talented Marcus Rashford, who finished second to Sanches, has been shortlisted this time around as well, alongside the likes of PSG starlet Kylian Mbappe and Barcelona’s record signing Ousmane Dembele.

Rashford played a vital role in United’s Europa League triumph last season, and the Englishman is considered to be a serious challenger for the crown once again.

However, there is no denying that the odds are in favour of Mbappe, who enjoyed a sensational rise to prominence over the course of last twelve months, playing a pivotal role in Monaco’s stunning Ligue 1 triumph in the previous campaign.

Along with these two favourites, 23 others players are also in contention for the award. Here is a complete list of the 25 nominees for the 2017 Golden boy award:

Aarón Martin, Espanyol

Jean-Kévin Augustin, RB Leipzig

Rodrigo Bentacur, Juventus

Steven Bergwijn, PSV Eindhoven

Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Everton

Federico Chiesa, Fiorentina

Ousmane Dembélé, Barcelona

Amadou Diawara, Napoli

Kasper Dolberg, Ajax

Gianluigi Donnarumma, Milan

Gabriel Jesus, Manchester City

Manchester City's Gabriel Jesus celebrates scoring their second goal with Benjamin Mendy and Kevin De Bruyne.

REUTERS/Phil Noble

Joe Gomez, Liverpool

Benjamin Henrichs, Bayer Leverkusen

Borja Mayoral, Real Madrid

Kylian Mbappé, Paris Saint-Germain

Emre Mor, Celta Vigo

Reece Oxford, Borussia Mönchengladbach

Christian Pulisic, Borussia Dortmund

Marcus Rashford, Manchester United

Allan Saint-Maximim, Nice

Dominic Solanke, Liverpool

Theo Hernandez, Real Madrid

Youri Tielemans, Monaco

Enes Ünal, Villarreal

Kyle Walker-Peters, Tottenham


Written by Pragadeesh Shanmugam  

United fan since Edwin Van der Sar denied Nicolas Anelka’s penalty to earn a dramatic Euro glory. Firmly believes that Lionel Messi deserves to win the Ballon d’Or until he plays this sport. One time writer for GiveMeSport and Roar. A regular contributor to Sportskeeda and BlameFootball.


1 Comment

  1. isaac on September 20, 2017 at 9:14 pm

    mpape wil wil runners up marcus rashford

Leave a Comment