FIFA Football Awards Results: Best Coach, Goalkeeper, And Goal

Nominees for the UEFA Men's Player of the Year award, Lionel Messi, Gianluigi Buffon and Cristiano Ronaldo.

REUTERS/Eric Gaillard

The FIFA Football Awards is being held as of now, but the fans have been graced with results of best goalkeeper, coach, and goal.

1. Best Coach Award

Real Madrid coach Zinedine Zidane.

Reuters / Juan Medina

Among masterminds, Zinedine Zidane swooped the award for the best coach ahead of Antonio Conte and Massimiliano Allegri following his amazing success story at the Spanish capital.

In just his second season in charge, Zidane led Los Blancos to a La Liga and Champions League double. Though it hardly comes through as a surprise, the French tactician’s recent exploits in European and Spanish football cannot be ignored.

On the other hand, Real Madrid’s recent form is sure to have let down the former French international, and he now faces the challenge to turn his team’s league form around.

2. Best Goalkeeper Award

REUTERS/Darren Staples

They say age doesn’t matter, and Gianluigi Buffon has been proving that for the last couple of years. The Italian is often compared to a fine wine which ages with time, and that appears to be completely true.

A goalkeeper is the last line of defense, and acts as a wall to protect his team’s honour. The Juventus fan-favourite beat the likes of Keylor Navas and Manuel Neuer to win the award, and has left the footballing world in awe.

The 39-year-old is set to head to the World Cup play-offs, which if won, could see the him appear at the World Cup as a 40-year-old.

3. Best Goal (Puskas Award)

Reuters / Phil Noble

The Puskas award is presented to the most stunning, iconic, and unique goal of the season, named after someone who was often seen scoring such goals, Ferenc Puskas. And this year, it is Arsenal’s main man Olivier Giroud who bags the decorated prize.

The towering striker was among Deyna Castellanos and Masuluke Oscarine competing for the trophy, and was tipped off by Neymar Jr, Cristiano Ronaldo, Frank Lampard, Peter Schmeichel and Antonio Conte to win the Puskas Award. And when the moment of truth came, the French international was named the winner.

The 31-year-old takes home the biggest honour a goalscorer can achieve, and he just might yet again return next year for his goals against Sweden and Red Star for France and Arsenal respectively.


Written by Ashish Sreejith 

Have had two addictions in life- playing football and watching football. Usually described as introverted but not when it comes to speaking and writing about the beautiful game of football.


Leave a Comment