Ballon d’Or 2015: The Complete Review

Presenter James Nesbitt (L) jokes with nominees of the FIFA Ballon d'Or 2015 awards at a ceremony in Zurich, Switzerland, January 11, 2016. REUTERS/Arnd Wiegmann - RTX21WEU

Presenter James Nesbitt (L) jokes with nominees of the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015 awards at a ceremony in Zurich, Switzerland, January 11, 2016. REUTERS/Arnd Wiegmann

Barcelona forward Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or award for the fifth time.

United States’ 33-year-old midfielder Carli Lloyd, who scored a hat-trick in the World Cup final, won the women’s award.

Barcelona coach Luis Enrique won the world coach of the year award after winning six trophies in 2015, including the Champions League, La Liga and the Copa del Rey.

United States coach Jill Ellis was named women’s football world coach of the year after leading her country to World Cup glory in the summer.

Atletico Goianiense’s Wendell Lira won the goal of the year award for his overhead kick against Goianesia in Brazil’s Goiano state league.

Fair Play Award went to every football club and organisation supporting refugees.

Press Conference ahead of the main event:

Lionel Messi

Messi, when asked which was the greatest moment of this year: “It’s hard to say,” Messi said while laughing.

He was then asked if he would swap five Ballon d’Or trophies for a FIFA World Cup.

Messi: “Obviously the World Cup. It’s the maximum. Definitely.”

Messi was then asked whether Neymar will soon be his successor at Barcelona.

“Neymar is nobody’s successor,” Messi said. “He has everything to be a great player himself.”

The obvious question was also asked – What did Messi feel about the rivalry between him and Ronaldo?

“I don’t feel envy,” Messi explained. “That’s a negative trait. I like Cristiano. I am the way I am. He is the way he is.”

Cristiano Ronaldo

Real Madrid star was first asked about the Ballon d’Or award. “It’s a special award,” Ronaldo said. “You work hard to achieve great things. Not just collective, but individual.”

“It’s my eighth time here,” Ronaldo said. “It’s special.”

He was then asked about his work ethic and Ronaldo simply said: “Talent without the work is nothing.”

The 30-year-old was then asked about his love for the no.7 shirt and he told the press about the story of how he got the shirt at Manchester United.

“When I arrived at Man United, I asked for 28 but the coach said ‘No, you will wear 7’,” Ronaldo explained.

“I was petrified as I knew [David] Beckham wore that shirt. But I took on the challenge and since then it has been my lucky number. I have won everything in football with that shirt.”

Ronaldo was also asked what he liked about Messi and which trait he’d love to have.

“His left foot is really good. I’d like to have that!”


When asked about sharing the stage with both Messi and Ronaldo, Neymar said: “I’m very pleased to be here alongside two great players. I think they are absolutely the best, that’s why they’re here.”

The Brazilian was also asked about his own form and achievements in the past year.

“I’m pleased with the things I have achieved, the goals I have scored. I thank my teammates for that. Hopefully I can keep helping my team win and be here again in the future. Each player has his own aims. We have to be ourselves.”

Who Voted for Who?

The voting for football’s most prestigious individual award was done by the captain, manager and one selected journalist for each country that is a member of FIFA.

The Argentine had 41.33% of the vote, with Portuguese forward Cristiano Ronaldo (27.76%) second and Brazilian Neymar (7.86%) third.

Random Choice

Pakistan head coach, Mohammad Al-Shamlan, voted for ageing Dutch winger Arjen Robben as the best player in the world in 2015.

You can find the full list of all the votes cast here.

Fifa/FIFPro World XI

La Liga dominated the Fifa Team of the Year, with only 3 of the 11 players not based in the Spanish league.

Barcelona and Real Madrid both boast four players apiece in the team of the year – whereas last year, the La Liga giants only had five representatives between them.

The 26,478 votes received is a new record for the team, with votes collected from 68 countries.

The team in full is: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich); Dani Alves (Barcelona), Thiago Silva (PSG), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Marcelo (Real Madrid); Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Paul Pogba (Juventus); Neymar (Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid).

Leave a Comment