Fifa Player Of The Year: The Final Trio

REUTERS/Arnd Wiegmann

FIFA is all set to give away its yearly set of awards on the 23rd of October in the English capital, and it is a night that the fans simply cannot wait for. Earlier in the day, FIFA revealed the various categories they will be awarding along with the nominations for each.

The one everybody is most eagerly awaiting is, of course, the Player of the Year award. Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have been dominating this list for quite a while now, and it might just be down to the two of them yet again. However, new PSG sensation and the world’s most expensive player, Neymar, is the third name in the final trio, and his presence is sure to give the other two a run for their money.

The Brazilian is destined to be a Ballon D’Or winner in the future and bag the highest personal records to his name, and this might be the year when it all begins. Although, by scoring the most goals in the Champions League, winning the La Liga and becoming the Champions League holder does put Cristiano Ronaldo in pole position to claim yet another award that marks him as simply the best there is at the moment.

The Portuguese was the 2016 FIFA Best Player award recipient, and a smart fan of the sport would bet his money on the player winning it yet again. Real Madrid are currently the best team in Europe without a doubt, and it will only make sense if their main man was the best player out there.

Men’s Player Nominees:
* Cristiano Ronaldo (POR / Real Madrid)
* Lionel Messi (ARG – FC Barcelona)
* Neymar (BRA – FC Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain)


Written by Vikram Gupta  

An attacker with his words, and defends each of them with pride. A love for the game which goes hand in hand with his will to forever write. A graduate in the course of advertising and a hopeful to be author. Herrera for the win.


Leave a Comment