FIFA Awards 2017: The Categories And Nominations

Nominees for the UEFA Men's Player of the Year award, Lionel Messi, Gianluigi Buffon and Cristiano Ronaldo.

REUTERS/Eric Gaillard

The fans of football all over the world simply cannot wait for September to get over already, as next month consists of a night that will see the best in the sport be identified and awarded. FIFA have announced their final nominations in the different categories they hand out awards to, and unsurprisingly, only the best have made the cut.

The glamorous night is set to be hosted in London, and will be done on the 23rd of October, 2017, with the event named as The Best FIFA Football Awards.

The categories include managers that won the trophies, the most spectacular goals scored, and players, both male and female. It is a night that will see the best being applauded by the world, and the contenders being given the benchmark to beat. Here are the nominations for some of the most popular categories:

Men’s Coach

Juventus Coach Massimiliano Allegri.

Reuters / Miguel Vidal

* Massimiliano Allegri (ITA – Juventus)
* Antonio Conte (ITA – Chelsea)
* Zinedine Zidane (FRA – Real Madrid)

Allegri won the Serie A with the Old Lady, Zidane won the La Liga and the Champions League with Real Madrid, and Conte managed to guide Chelsea to Premier League glory in his debut season in England. Choices do not get tougher than these.

* Gianluigi Buffon (ITA – Juventus)
* Keylor Navas (CRC – Real Madrid)
* Manuel Neuer (GER – FC Bayern Munich)

The Italian legend defying age and norms to be a part of this list. He does stand a chance by being Champions League finalist last season, but Navas going on and winning the competition could tilt things in his favour. Both were domestic champions with their respective clubs too. Neuer is clearly one of the best in the world, and easily winning the Bundesliga whilst being the undisputed best in Germany elevates his chances of being given the award to a high level.

Another exciting list many will be looking forward to will be the best goal of the year.

Puskas Award
* Kevin-Prince Boateng (Las Palmas)
* Alejandro Camargo (Universidad de Concepcion)
* Deyna Castellanos (Venezuela U-17)
* Moussa Dembele (Celtic)
* Olivier Giroud (Arsenal)
* Aviles Hurtado (Tijuana Xolos)
* Mario Mandzukic (Juventus)
* Oscarine Masuluke (Baroka FC)
* Jordi Mboula (FC Barcelona U-19)
* Nemanja Matic (Chelsea)


Written by Vikram Gupta  

An attacker with his words, and defends each of them with pride. A love for the game which goes hand in hand with his will to forever write. A graduate in the course of advertising and a hopeful to be author. Herrera for the win.


Leave a Comment